#Me-me-me

I still don’t understand twitter. That is, I get how it works, how one can write and read tweets, like/dislike tweets, comment on them, retweet, etc., (whether or not they contain truth or have value).  All actions that seem available in all forms of social media, including blogs.  I get that it is about sharing.

I am not inclined to have my personal or professional life revolve around social media.  Maybe its generational, maybe it just me being selective or making priorities. Maybe my skepticism and reluctance are based on misconceptions and ignorance. Or all of the above. I know I am not interested in the self-centered, everybody-look-at-me aspect, although I don’t think that’s what people have in mind when they encourage me to get on twitter for professional purposes.

I guess what I don’t understand is, what DO they have in mind?  What is it they are asking of me? Why do they feel this is important?  What are the advantages and disadvantages?  Is it possible to use twitter to have a worthwhile conversation? If so, how?   I am not even sure what questions to ask about twitter that will convince me that it is worth my time and effort.

What am I missing, here?

PS.  In the spirit of making it all about me (and to include a visual in all this boring text)… lookie what I did!

IMG_2093

UPDATE (10 minutes later)

It occurs to me that maybe I should stop overthinking and just get a twitter account and start looking at what y’all are doing and saying.

2 thoughts on “#Me-me-me

  1. I have resisted social media for a long time. I don’t use Facebook or Instagram but the community on math educators on Twitter got me in. There are multiple reasons. Some might be important for you as well while some might not.

    1. It helped me to collaborate with other teachers around the world to develop and improve my lessons, reflect on students learning, gather and refine ideas. Teaching can be lonely. You plan the lesson, you have this best or worst from it, you reflect, maybe discuss with the teacher across the hall and move on. Twitter opened the possibility for a conversation for me. I read about something on someone’s blog that I really want to try. I can discuss it before. I can discuss it after. I can share my experience. We can design and try something together and share how it went. If 140 characters is not enough we can move to messages, emails, google docs. I’ve posted questions that puzzled me and my students, and people jumped in and helped me develop them into great lessons. There is the continuous exchange of ideas and feedback, and suddenly teaching is less lonely and more exciting. It’s about me, sure, but I hope my students will also benefit in the process.

    2. I don’t have many real life friends who find math as exciting as I do. Many times I’ve spent a weekend discussing solitions to some fun math problems or working on a math art/craft inspired by someone’s idea on twitter. It’s great to find more people who share your interests.

    3. Twitter connects people with different professional background. As an elementary school teacher, I don’t have many opportunities to talk to the high school or university educators. I can do it on twitter.

    4. As you do all these things, you get to know people and you make friends. As in people you care about and you love spending time with.

    I think you can get very different experiences from twitter. You can post pictures of your breakfast or browse hints on how to increase the number of your followers. You can have genuine conversations though. It was my experience and I hope yours will be positive for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

